spynotes ::
  September 03, 2003
Welcome to the Insane Asylum

I've recently become hooked on iTunes. I think an iPod may be in my future. If I ever again have the time to listen to music other than when I'm on the computer. I know I'm late to the MP3 game. Why didn't I do this before? Today's mix includes Pearl Jam, Patricia Barber, Joni Mitchell, Moby and John Mayer. Who knows what the future holds?

Speaking of tunes, Does anyone out there know how I can get a hold of a recording/MP3 of Meryn Cadell's "The Sweater" from about a gazillion years ago? Okay, maybe about 10. All my online searches have come to naught. If anyone besides me is actually reading this and knows something about this, please e-mail me at my user name at diaryland.com [spam avoidance prevents me from putting the full address here, but I'm sure you can figure it out]. I don't think the contact me button on this page is working properly and I haven't had a chance to try and fix it.

-------

I was talking with a friend earlier about some of our favorite made-up words. She attributes the word "assholic" to me, although I'm sure someone else came up with it first. It seems to be fairly common usage now. She sent me a copy of this Maureen Dowd column in today's NY Times and pointed out the word "jejeunosity."

Jejeunosity has all the earmarks of being an excellent made up word (form, elegance, root, pretension). Being the geek that I am, I went straight to the OED online to check on its newness. I love this site, subscription only, alas. I get in through my university. I always thought the word this one is based onwas jejeune, but it's actually jejune. The root has nothing to do with jeune/juvenis and the common usage of jejune as puerile is actually a mistake that has become a meaning. I love stuff like that. The original meaning has to do with a lack of nourishment. Jejeune is not even mentioned as an alternate spelling and jejeunosity is right out. The noun form listed for jejune is jejuneness.

More than you wanted to know, I'm sure. I love words.

-----

I just spent the morning at IKEA with two two- year-olds and a cranky pregnant woman. J. (cranky pregnant woman -- and let me tell you, I'd be cranky too if I were six months pregnant and running around after a hyperactive 2-year-old) and I have taken to meeting there, as it's about halfway between our houses, and using it as a playground for the kids. I didn't even try to shop today.

Yes, I've become one of those mothers I always used to hate. So sue me. And please have a little compassion for us. It's not that we're intentionally rude. It's just that we're very, very tired.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>