spynotes ::
  October 06, 2003
Blahg, Blahg, Blahg

I am finally back in the windy city or, rather, in the vicinity thereof. One of the great things about going someplace like Miami with serious climatal and vegetational differences is that you feel like you�ve been gone much longer than you really have.

The conference was great. I haven�t been to one of these in a few years, but the papers seemed of an unusually high quality this time around. And there were some really interesting sessions on music in the Middle East and Afghanistan in light of recent political events. When you think about music as signifying the culture from which it comes, it becomes an interesting yardstick for major changes. It�s also far easier to take than, say, reports of suicide bombings near my brother�s house in Jerusalem.

And on a personal basis, I got together with lots of old friends, met some new and interesting people, got to talk about music a lot, talked to a publisher who seems to want to publish my dissertation when it�s finished, got lots of job search advice and some lecture invitations. Not a bad run, especially considering I wasn�t even presenting this year. I also picked up this CD and this one at bargain basement prices.

The salsa dance band at the dinner on Saturday night, Charanga T�pica Tropical, was fun, although not the best I�ve heard. We did some dancing, but spent much of the evening at a university party, which had free beer, as opposed to the overpriced cash bar by the dance floor. A couple of guys had brought guitars and a very mellow evening was had by all.

Sunday sessions were pretty deserted, but I stuck around to hear a friend give a paper before heading to the airport.

AJ had been sick the whole time I was gone, so I was really happy to see him. I know it seems impossible, but I swear he looked older; and since I�ve been home, he�s been talking non-stop, providing a constant narration of what he is doing. He�ll be an excellent blogger someday.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>