spynotes ::
  October 23, 2003
I have a thyroid condition.

Today is a Stepford Wives kind of day. Housework. Kid. Errands. Conning relatives into buying cookies to help finance new playground equipment at AJ�s school. Mortgage refinance closing. Garden club.

Ack, how did I end up in a garden club? I am not a lady who lunches.

I�ll tell you how. I live in a very, very small town � essentially a subdivision with pretensions of being a town. If one doesn�t pitch in, one is a social outcast. And while I don�t really care much about the outcast part, I�m actually all for community volunteering when the project is right. The garden club takes care of the public park areas of our little village, which are great and a major part of why we moved here and which I visit at least once daily. I have become a gardening fanatic since I moved to a place where I can actually have a garden, so this seemed like a good fit. Also, the club seems to put a lot of emphasis on the drinking of wine at their monthly meetings, while the husbands are home putting the kids to bed. I guess that part of the agenda is a little too seditious to be truly Stepford Wivesian. I have not yet been to one of these meetings. I�ll let you know if there is any suspicious behavior.

Trivium for the day: The Stepford Wives movie was filmed in the Connecticut town where I grew up. Apparently a remake starring Nicole Kidman, Matthew Broderick, et al, is in the works and is also to be filmed there.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>