spynotes ::
  November 04, 2003
Psychic babies

An update on the new sofa: When I informed AJ that we were getting a new sofa, he responded, �I will jump up and down on it,� and then proceeded to demonstrate exactly what he was going to do to that poor unsuspecting piece of furniture.

I am likely to be posting late tomorrow, as AJ�s friend Z. and her mom are coming over to play. This playdate is not actually a direct response to the Pretend TV episode this weekend. In fact, without the use of a phone, or any other obvious form of communication, Z and AJ seem to have arranged this themselves.

Z and AJ have known each other since they were mere zygotes. I�ve known Z�s mom for over a decade and we worked together for a number of years in an office of under 10 people, where she actually got me a job. She and I got pregnant at the same time. We did our Lamaze classes together. AJ and Z�s birthdays were born less than 3 weeks apart in the same hospital. However, AJ and Z haven�t seen each other since this summer when Z came over to splash in the neighborhood pool on a hot day. It�s been at least 3 months, which in toddler time might as well be forever. Three months is one tenth of AJ�s entire life. One day last week, AJ woke up from his nap and informed me, �Z�s coming. She�s coming in my house. I will share my toys.� I was almost as surprised by the specificity of this statement as I was by the fact that my son had just volunteered to share his toys without any prompting whatsoever from me. �He means business,� I thought.

So did Z., apparently, for that evening we got an e-mail from Z�s mom saying that Z had woken up from her nap with an almost identical request.

Is there a psychic baby network? I really couldn�t tell you, but there�s certainly something going on there. I�ll be conducting a full scientific study tomorrow and I�ll report back any results. In any case, there should be much hilarity and excitement here tomorrow. And of course, a new sofa to sleep on after the chaos dies down.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>