spynotes ::
  March 04, 2005
All your fears are foolish fancies

I am engaged, today, in the annual purging of paper that precedes the singular torture known as tax time. In an effort to avoid the trauma of being caught without paper backup, I tend to save receipts for absolutely every transaction of any kind that I make for a year. Then each march, my office resembles a tickertape parade gone wrong until I am able to sort through the mess.

I freely admit that this is not the most logical way to do business, but in my defense, the complexities of self-employment tax requirements are still relatively new to me. Thank God my brother-in-law works for the IRS. Every year I swear I will improve. And yet, here I am again.

This is, however, a good task for today, as my mind has not really been focusable. I�m still reacting to the shock of hearing that someone I used to work with was found stabbed to death in his apartment last weekend. It�s taken a while for it to sink in. Although we were not close, we had worked together on many occasions. He was an odd fellow, but exceptionally kind and dedicated. I can�t imagine a less likely target for murder. Tragic doesn�t begin to cover it.

Although not tragic by any means, I�ve also just been notified of another imminent loss � one of my department�s named-chair faculty members is leaving next year for an equivalent position at an Ivy League school. R. was my advisor when I first arrived at graduate school and was subsequently a department chair. At the time I arrived, he was the only full-time faculty member in his field in my program (between my admission and my arrival, a massive shift in faculty in his field took place across the country). He was left to rebuild the program, which he did beyond anyone�s expectations. Although ultimately I�ve ended up changing my interests, his willing ear and careful, sensible advice has had and will continue to have a huge affect on the kind of scholar I have become. I am thrilled for him � it�s a huge honor. And I�m grateful to have had the chance to work with him. He will leave an enormous hole in our department. He will be very missed.

I am far too melancholy for a Friday. I�d better return to my receipts.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>