spynotes ::
  March 09, 2005
Peace and Love

This morning I woke up early and decided to get a few things done before AJ got up at the regulation time of 6:30. He was already awake when I tiptoed past his door. I could hear him crooning �The Age of Aquarius� in his bed. My mother, who brought me up on a weird mix of the Beatles, Jimmy Cliff, Tchaikowsky ballets, Bach�s Brandenburg Concerti and the soundtrack to Hair, would be proud.

AJ learned �The Age of Aquarius� because one night, while I was tucking him into bed and singing songs, like we do every night, he demanded �a planet song.� I have discovered that while I have an excellent memory for melody and harmony, I have an appallingly poor memory for song lyrics. After bailing out on �Interplanet Janet� and �The sun is a mass of incandescent gas� after a line apiece, �Age of Aquarius� was the only song for which I could get through an entire verse. Probably because my mom used to sing it to me before bed too.

�Mommy, where are the rest of the planets?�
�What do you mean?�
�They say the moon and Jupiter and Mars. When will you sing about Mercury?�

Maybe it�s time to start learning some new songs.

And with that scintillating contribution to your morning, I must get back to work in order to earn my time off for a haircut this afternoon. I�m trying out yet another new stylist. I think this makes me some kind of hair slut. Wish me luck.


0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>