spynotes ::
  May 03, 2005
Guarded

I feel so incredibly schizophrenic on these days between classes when I return to my former life as mostly mom (and sometimes scholar). I worked late last night, trying to carefully choose my musical excerpts for class. I took the 7-9 a.m. work shift this morning, as my husband had to leave for a day of meetings, so I had a full day of AJ, which was delightful and exhausting. We spent most of the morning at the library and a little while afterwards hunting down pint-sized soccer gear, which was a bit of a challenge. But AJ is now the proud owner of black soccer knee socks and tiny silver and white shin guards that look as if they�d be more appropriate on a miniature knight than on a soccer field. AJ was so excited to try them out, that he put them on as soon as we got home. As it was naptime, I nixed the idea of going outside to play actual soccer, so he decided it was almost as good to play basketball inside with them on and so he did. We curled up afterwards and read books about dogs on the moon and a boy who helps 400 frogs and then he laid his sleepy head on the pillow while we sang a couple of songs. I think he may have been asleep before I left the room.

I have been getting nostalgic about these moments lately, these still-a-baby moments where I get to pick him up or kiss his still baby-plump cheek, damp with sleepiness. I know they will not be here much longer. As I watch him careening around the yard with his soccer ball, carefully practicing the drills his coach taught him last weekend, I know the days are numbered where I can hold him in my lap and sing him a song and make everything okay.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>