spynotes ::
  May 11, 2005
Bad Harriet

My class� Wednesday curse returned this week, although I think I pulled it off in the end. It was the least prepared I�ve been all quarter. The summer weather�s been getting to me, and I didn�t do enough work last weekend. And also my husband�s been crazy busy with his own work and has been around to bail me out less (which is probably just as well). In this case, though, the biggest problem was the fact that I didn�t like the music the anthology offered for this particular unit. Oh, and also I FORGOT ONE OF MY CDs. This is totally unprofessional. I�ve been in danger of doing this all quarter, so it was bound to happen sooner or later. And last night I was working extra late and AJ woke me up early because of the thunderstorm, so, in my haste to get my stuff together, I checked the CD player instead of the CD case to make sure I had everything. Note to self: Don�t be so stupid. I hate looking unprofessional. Fortunately one of my students had brought her set to class and so I was saved from making stuff up on the spot. And I reiterate: I hate looking unprofessional.

The second half of the class when I brought in my own stuff went much better and because I miscalculated the time I had, I had a few minutes to spare at the end and we ended up having the best class discussion we�ve had all term. Afterwards I met with one of the students who I�d thought had been time sharing the class and she was so cool and just totally stressed out. We had a good meeting and I think I impressed on her that sometimes if teachers know what else is going on in your life, we can help.

I�m heading home now to offer burnt offerings to whatever deity bailed me out from looking like a total fool in class today. And also to start working on next week. I�m almost finished. At my particular institution of higher learning, seniors have to take exams a week and a half before everybody else so they can get their grades in time for graduation. My class voted unanimously to take the final early, on the last day of class. This means that a) I have one less lecture to prepare, b) I have one less day to be on campus, and best of all c) I only have to write one final exam. Only four lectures to go. And 23 homework assignments, 22 concert reviews (one person turned this in early), 23 final papers and 23 finals to grade. And a lot of coffee to drink.

[Second entry today. Click back for meaningless encomiums to thundery mornings and rants about annoying Cubs fans. Or don�t. See what I care.]

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>