spynotes ::
  May 29, 2005
Be all my sins remember'd

To adjunct, or not to adjunct: that is the question:
Whether 'tis nobler in the mind to suffer
The waiting for a tenure track position,
Or to grab a community college job while I can
Postponing a move by a year or more?

I had promised myself just days ago that I would stop reading the want ads until the dissertation was finished. But then, I forgot to inform my husband who, in scanning the website of our local community college and found they were advertising for someone to teach Music Appreciation and Intro to World Music, both of which I�ve now taught already. Do I apply for part time work? The income is likely to be paltry, although every little bit helps, providing it pays more than child care costs (no guarantee). I have solid syllabi for these courses, so it shouldn�t be the mammoth amount of labor that I put in this term. Do I need the experience? Do I want it? I�m not sure. Will I get stuck on an adjunct trajectory? The world of community colleges is something of a mystery to me. But I have to say that part time work in my field of choice sounds somewhat appealing. Especially when the school in question is 20 minutes rather than several hours away from my house.

And here is AJ to inform me that his dad is bailing on the a.m. babysitting shift in order to cut the lawn before what looks like an imminent downpour. So AJ and I are off to the grocery store where I will have to explain over and over again why we are not buying Sugar-coated Superhyperpuffs! or Big Bag o� Candy or even Supersquish white bread. A mother�s job is never done.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>