spynotes ::
  January 12, 2006
It's something unpredictable, but in the end it's right

Thanks to the many who have weighed in on the involvement of Gloria Steinem and women�s rights organizations with Lifetime Television in a contract dispute with Dish Network Satellite service.

I attempted to apply my not-for-profit research experience to quickly turn up a 990 for the National Organization for Women (that�s the IRS form not-for-profits have to file to publicly disclose their financial records), but was unsuccessful. I did find out that they file as both a 501(c)3 (charitable organization, not-for-profit) and a 501(c)4 (for-profit social services agency), which is interesting and means their finances are probably mighty complicated.

I did discover, however, that on Tuesday, when Bush signed the �Human Trafficking� bill, Lifetime officials were present. It seems that Lifetime supported NOW and other women�s rights organizations in pushing through that bill � I would surmise that it means they were financially backing the lobbyists work and are credited with the success of the bill. This was on the heels of a Lifetime mini-series titled �Human Trafficking,� which starred Mira Sorvino and Donald Sutherland, and was the �highest rated original movie on ad-supported basic cable� (source: Lifetime Press release via PR Newswire) in 2005. It was also nominated for at least one Golden Globe. Regardless of other financial backing Lifetime might provide to such organizations, the timing of the bill-signing (Tuesday, January 10) and the ad (Wednesday, January 11) suggest there may be a relationship. And I have to say that that bill makes me feel a little better about Lifetime�s aims. If only more of their programming would support it.

But clearly their priorities are with good press and good money, not with accomplishing social good through their built-in high-profile platform, programming. Lifetime recently announced their next new program, which is to begin in March. �Cheerleader Nation� is a reality show that will follow the cheerleading squad as they attempt to win a championship. Hmm. I don�t notice any shows about girls competing in the Westinghouse Science competition. I wonder when those will be programmed.

I find it all very disturbing. There are some areas where I wish money didn�t talk. And with the current administration in Washington, I really don�t need the organizations I was supporting (albeit with miniscule donations, but it�s the best I can do) to speak for me supporting questionable projects.

I now I will be turning my research skills back to women�s organizations of an earlier era, back when the media had less power. Maybe my research is why this is getting under my skin this week. I am reading first hand accounts of the amazing things women accomplished at the turn of the twentieth century, both in terms of women�s rights and social reform. We�re not doing them justice.

I was hoping to move onto a discussion of James Frey and JT Leroy and the notion of memoir, but that will have to keep.

5 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>