spynotes ::
  January 16, 2006
Deep in my heart I do believe

AJ woke me up this morning by whispering �Happy Martin Luther King Day� in my ear.

AJ: Mommy, we learned in school that Martin Luther King made it so all kids could go to school together, no matter where they�re from or what they look like.

Harriet: Yes, that�s part of it.

AJ: So why do we celebrate Martin Luther King Day by not going to school?

Harriet: That�s a very good question.

In honor of the day, I sang AJ �We shall overcome� as a lullaby last night. I figure it�s never too soon to learn a protest song or two.


* * * * *

AJ: (who has been lobbying for a fish recently and who is petting our resident feline, Mrs. Stein) Mommy, I think we should have a dog, a cat AND a fish.

Harriet: Why is that?

AJ: Because then the dog could chase the cat and then the cat wouldn�t bother the fish.

Harriet: Good thinking.

* * * * *
It�s hard to beat that kid�s logic.

I�ve been tagged by LiterateWit for the following:

The first player of this game starts with the topic �five of your weirdest habits� and people who get tagged are asked to write an entry about their five weird habits as well as include this blurb. At the end of the entry about your weirdest habits, you choose the next five people to be tagged and link to their web journals. Don�t forget to leave a comment in their blog or journal that says �You have been tagged� (assuming they take comments) and tell them to read yours.

Is it my imagination, or is this the most overly explicit set of meme instructions you�ve ever seen?

I should probably interview my friends and family, because I�m certain that I�m woefully unaware of many of my weird and annoying habits. Perhaps my former roommate has something to add?

Here it goes:

1. I have a bad tendency to imitate the accent of whomever I�m speaking to. I don�t do it on purpose. It just happens.
2. I am a compulsive doodler. I find it difficult to listen without a pencil or pen in my hand.
3. I love to do crossword puzzles, but I cannot do them in anything but a rollerball or fine felt-tip pen. If my only choice is pencil or ball point, I will find something else to do, even if it means reading Golf Magazine at the doctor�s office.
4. I have a wide variety of compulsions related to housekeeping. Some of these include a pathological aversion to open closet and cupboard doors, the organization of CDs and books, and the making of beds. However, if we vacuumed twice a year, it wouldn�t bother me that much.
5. I have a tic-like tendency to push my hair behind my ears. I didn�t realize this until I watched a video of me conducting when my hair was buzzed and I kept up the gesture despite the lack of any hair to push back.

I�m supposed to tag 5 more. Hmm. Let�s try rs536, Elgan, lass, fairlywell and infodva (if only to see if I can get her to start posting again!).

6 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>