spynotes ::
  February 20, 2006
Heart to heart

Yesterday, while driving a route a take nearly every day, I happened to notice a sign I�d never paid much attention to before. It read, �T and A Body Shop.� I always thought it was a mechanic�s building, but now I�m wondering if it�s a plastic surgeon. Perhaps the rusting hulks of decaying cars in the lot next door are just a front.

Our house has mostly recovered from the flood. We hauled hundreds of pounds of sodden cardboard to the recycling center yesterday. And when I say �we� I mean �the husband.� Sometimes, I admit, I am perfectly happy to sit back and watch the men do the heavy lifting. In my defense, however, I was scouring the basement with bleach while he was gone (my sainted brother-in-law came over to watch AJ for a couple of hours while we worked). The basement is now cleaner than it�s ever been, with everything bleached within an inch of its life. The storage room still looks like a prison detention cell, but you could eat off the floor. If you really wanted to. Not that I have any intention of trying.

The widow Stein was very entertained by all of the goings on. She found lots of interesting puddles to sniff and lots of objects in strange new places to climb on. Apparently my violin case is much more fascinating when it sits in the guest shower than it is when it is on the shelf next to my desk. She was a bit unhappy last night, however, when her favorite sleeping place, AJ�s computer monitor, was not warm and toasty as usual � computer got wet and I thought I�d better let it dry out overnight before powering it up again.

And now I must attempt to work and try not to freak out about the fact that I have an appointment with a cardiologist tomorrow. Without boring you with my medical history, there is in all likelihood absolutely nothing wrong. My heart just likes to flip out every now and again for no apparent reason and sometimes they want to take pictures. I just wish I didn�t have to see a cardiologist. I always find the offices depressing. I�m inevitably the youngest and healthiest person in the room. But this is a new office, so perhaps it will be better. AJ wants to come with me � he wants to see what my heart looks like. I told him he already knows about my heart. I don�t think he needs to see it.

On the other side of the cardiology issue, thanks to my summer water aerobics gig, our village is paying for me (along with a few other people) to receive training in CPR and the use of our village�s new defibrillator this Saturday. I�ve always wanted to take CPR, but have never made the time. Back in the dark ages when I got my life guard certification in high school, CPR wasn�t part of the process. With all this talk of hearts this week, I�m feeling like I�m a little late with the Valentine�s celebration.


3 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>