spynotes ::
  March 03, 2006
And then there were none

Scene: Last night at the dinner table of the harriet household.

AJ: (looking very very sad) Daddy, something very, very bad happened today.

Husband: (looking mildly alarmed) What happened?

AJ: Well, D. [his best friend] and N. [D's little brother] both had tattoos and I had none.

Husband: You had none?

AJ: None at all


I can see that this will be fodder for the copious therapy in his future. Once again, the husband and I are amused by the absolute correctness of AJ's speech. In this case, however, the phrase "I had none" was most likely drawn from the little piggies, to wit:

This little piggy went to market.
This little piggy stayed home.
This little piggy had roast beef.
This little piggy had none.

We have decided that AJ's brain blows up like a balloon at night. He seems to do his best thinking before breakfast. Unfortunately for me, that means he wants to do math problems before I've had my coffee. I�m pretty sure he's going to outpace me at math by the time he's in the second grade. I think I'd better start getting myself some math books so I can keep up. This morning we started in on division. To my credit, I seem to have explained the idea of a remainder to him so that he understood it even before I'd had my first cup of coffee. (I should point out here that there was absolutely no remainder of coffee. I needed every last drop.).

AJ spent the remainder of his morning before school building a psychiatrist's booth for his toy Lucy. With his dad's help, he cut a booth out of red construction card and made a flap so they could change the sign depending on whether Lucy was IN or OUT. Here is a picture. His dad did the writing (every now and then AJ gets very self-conscious about the way he writes and refuses to do it); AJ wrote the 5 cents and did the cutting.

This afternoon he has plans to go out in the yard and find a sprig of evergreen with which to manufacture a Charlie Brown Christmas tree. This should not be difficult, as sad, pathetic evergreen sprigs are a dime a dozen in our yard at this time of year. Perhaps we'll also measure the daffodil shoots to see how they are progressing and check the hellebores for flower buds.

3 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>