spynotes ::
  March 08, 2006
Downward facing dog

I have spent the day writing and unwriting and feeling good about my paper and then deciding it is the worst piece of crap ever written and it should be burned and finally coming down somewhere in the middle. I need to learn how not to let these things make me totally insane. For insane I become. I can see my husband's shoulders get tense every time I say something about it. Poor husband.

I also received my first job rejection letter. I'm thinking of starting an album, as I’m sure there will be more coming soon, if they even bother to reject me. This doesn't bother me – it's what I expected. It also takes some of the pressure off the diss (this is not necessarily a good thing). I dated a guy in college who lived in a suite with five of his friends. All of them were applying to assorted graduate schools, law schools, med schools. They papered one entire wall of their common room -- and it was a large wall -- with all of their rejection letters. It was hilarious reading.

I will be combating the insanity by a trip to my first yoga class in several years. Our next-door neighbor teaches at a nearby studio. They have childcare too, which means that AJ can play with The Girl Next Door while I enjoy a class. I hope it is fun for all. I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to it.

Just as I was trying to post, I got a phone call from my department chair. Do I want to teach Music 101 this spring? Starting in two weeks? Ack. Now I definitely need that yoga class.

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>