spynotes ::
  March 09, 2006
Resolution

I turned it down.

I think I did the right thing. I definitely feel ill-at-ease about it, but I think I did the right thing. I spent the morning thinking about it, mapping out possible transportation routes, trying to figure out the time input, trying to weigh the pros against the cons. But in the end it seemed more crazy-making and not enough advancement to be worth the chaos into which it would throw the whole family.

Unfortunately I had to turn it down on his voicemail - it's what he asked me to do if he wasn't around. I don't like that. It's like breaking up with someone over email -- you just don't do that. But I also know he needs to find someone else fast. I told him the truth: that the morning option was impossible because of childcare issues and the afternoon was horrific in terms of travel time -- I would be gone for 11 hours to teach a class that lasts an hour and twenty minutes, thanks to the incredibly poor Chicago public transportation system (and I use the word system in its loosest possible sense).

The other issue that I didn't mention is the matter of the next two weeks, the only class prep time I'd get. In that time I have to finish prepping an conference paper, including handouts and AV, host my parents for four days, attend a birthday party for my niece, throw a birthday party for AJ, all in addition to the usual round of playgroups and gymnastics classes. I could do it. But I really don't want to. AJ's birthday got short shrift last year because of another teaching/conference double whammy. I want him to have a good birthday this year. I want to play in my spring garden. And most importantly, I want to finish so my family can take a long overdue vacation. I think we all need one.

I am also being an academic slacker for not turning in an abstract for next year's ethno conference, which would be due today. I could. Maybe I even should. But the conference is in Hawaii and while I'd love to go, I don't think I can afford it. Hopefully letting this one slide will encourage me to go forth and get a job with an expense account post haste. Because Hawaii sounds pretty good right now.

Thanks to all of you for your kind words. They helped more than you know.

6 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>