spynotes ::
  March 10, 2006
Slippery slope

Yesterday was just not the most relaxing of days. After the job drama, I buckled down to look up a few last references for my conference paper. I went to my favorite database and typed in a search term. I accidentally misspelled it. But something interesting happened as a result. It turned up several articles I'd never seen before that had been misentered into the database. The articles gave me information about an event that moved the date for the phenomenon I'm talking about back several years. That was kind of exciting. There was only one problem -- it also totally contradicted my thesis of my paper.

For a moment I was very unhappy about making an exciting discovery. And then I got over myself.

And so this morning, I opened a brand new document and started over. Did I mention the conference starts Wednesday? But it's already a much better and tighter paper than the one I threw away. It will be easier to follow as an oral presentation, and it’s two thirds done and in fairly polished prose. I just need to write the concluding stuff up this afternoon and send it to my readers. Hoorah.

AJ and The Girl Next Door are running around the house, having exhausted all possibilities of running around the yard. It is a beautiful day -- nearly sixty and sunny. The yard is so muddy that it appears to be sliding down the hill into the creek, swollen from all of this week’s rain. But we don't care. We ran raced around the yard. We are covered with mud. I have to go clip some pussywillow to bring inside before the rains return.

2 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>