spynotes ::
  April 10, 2006
I swear, Sister Sarah, I will reform!

Strangely, after my entry yesterday, I was gifted with another mix CD. This one, entitled �Happy Spring,� was assembled by my brother and sister-in-law in Thailand and appeared in my mailbox this morning. It includes a whole lot of happy pop music by a whole lot of artists I�ve heard of but haven�t listened to much: los Lonely Boys, Jack Johnson (well, I did hear and enjoy his soundtrack to Curious George), Sade (I haven�t heard anything of hers since Smooth Operator), Gavin DeGraw (I�ve never even heard of him), Ben Harper, Nelly Furtado (okay, I have a secret thing for Nelly�s music, but I try not to talk about it. Except here, where I outed myself after reading of Nick Hornby�s similar covert passion), Guster, Maroon 5, Daniel Powter, Jason Mraz, Joss Stone, and Carbon Leaf. No one song jumps out at me as a favorite -- not enough teeth -- but it�s a happy spring soundtrack nonetheless.

It�s good to have all these nice new things to listen to because I�ve been chained to my desk working on the taxes. Yes, until the eleventh hour. Why? Well, funny you should ask. Because the same thing happens every damn year and I never seem to change my ways. Taxes are bad. And we always owe a ton of money because we�re self-employed and that�s the way it works. Avoidance is natural. But the real problem is that I don�t keep up with the bookkeeping throughout the year. My current system is to throw all bank statements and receipts in a box and forget about them until April. Really, not such a good system. I�m the first to admit it. But hey, at least I don�t lose it or throw it away. But it�s really not fun to have to log every credit card and bank statement into Quicken in April. It�s very time consuming. I swear, I�m going to reform! Honest! Also, a couple of extra thousand dollars would be nice.

AJ has just appeared at my side. The sun is shining, the daffodils are blooming, and I think we need to get outside and stick our bare feet in the grass and get up to our elbows in good clean dirt and baby flowers.

2 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>