spynotes ::
  April 12, 2006
Birthday Party, cheesecake, jelly bean, BOOM

AJ has a cold. Not a bad cold, but a cold nonetheless. He is coughing and sneezing this morning but trying to pretend that he isn�t, because he has an egg hunt at school today and he doesn�t want to miss it.

* * * * *

I�ve been experimenting with blogmad the last few days, but I�ve decided to bail out. I think it�s an interesting idea � to gain viewers to your blog through viewing the blogs of others. But I�ve come to the realization that I don�t really care how many people see my blog. Moreover, I definitely prefer quality over quantity. After viewing lots of different blogs over the last few days, I�ve come to appreciate my regular reads all the more. I had started to believe that everyone writing blogs was a lot better at the business of writing than I would have suspected. Now I just know I�m lucky with my reads and those who read me. There are a lot of good ones out there, but there�s also a heck of a lot of garbage. I don�t want to spend my time reading the dreck. Of all the blogs I viewed during this experiment, only 3 or 4 looked worth revisiting. And most of those I�d already come across through some other means.

I�m also not wild about the random voting and ranking on blogmad. It requires snap decisions and comparing apples too oranges. Who am I to rank a techie blog? I am so not interested in that. Ditto the self-professed conservative Christian blog I came across. I have no way of knowing whether the do what they set out to do well. I don�t think it�s fair to grade them down just because it�s not my thing. And yet I can�t in good conscience give high marks to what seems to me to be an ignorant regurgitation of right wing evangelical hearsay, albeit in a well-organized regurgitation (ick).

It seems to me that this system actually probably works best, though, with just those kinds of blogs � blogs with a specific focus. This is not one of those blogs.

I know a number of you who read this have been mucking around with blogmad (or similar services) as well. I�d be interested to know what your experiences have been. Please use the comments link below.

* * * * *

AJ is at school now hunting for plastic eggs. He and his friends were literally jumping up and down in anticipation of the morning ahead while waiting for their classroom door to open. The morning, which began black as night has miraculously turned yellow and bright. The path into the woods is now lined on both sides with the nodding heads of daffodils, leading back to a burst of forsythia yellow in center of the trees. The wind is dying down and the sun is warming things up. Perhaps a picnic lunch is in order.

There is chaos ahead. Today The Girl Next Door comes over during AJ's usual naptime while her mom has a job interview. Tomorrow is the annual egg-dying extravaganza. Friday AJ attempts to avoid church and play with friends instead. Will he do it? Saturday AJ and a bunch of his friends converge on a local movie theater for a birthday party. And Sunday, thanks to the generosity of the Easter Bunny (with whom I am in cahoots) and several grandparents, AJ will be eating more sugar than ever before. God help us all.

5 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>