spynotes ::
  April 18, 2006
This is the place

Mystery of the day: Why is AJ�s jumbo-sized, Easter-egg-shaped cookie -- a cookie that is iced with the words -- �Happy Easter,� labeled as kosher?

* * * * *

AJ: I want to be a baseball player when I grow up.
Husband: That sounds like a very exciting job.
AJ: But you know what I really want to be when I grow up?
Husband: What?
AJ: I want to be a guy who works at a place.

* * * * *

AJ is downstairs in the kitchen. He�s supposed to be eating, but he�s actually singing a little arrangement that he likes to call �The Underwear Medley.� This involves alternating two songs that both include the word �underwear�: �The Billboard Song� and a parody of �Bye Bye, Blackbird� called �Bye Bye, Long Johns!� These are both songs I learned at summer camp when I was eight. Because the very thought of the word �underwear� is enough to send almost any five-year-old boy into gales of giggles, the entertainment value of such a medley should be obvious.

* * * * *

This boy who thinks underwear is the funniest word in the English language had his graduation pictures today. In a blue cap and gown. �You know what was so funny, Mommy? The hat was a SQUARE.� His graduation is May 24th. He will, no doubt, have a full posse of adoring relatives in attendance. The ceremony will last 45 minutes and we will consider ourselves lucky if the graduates manage to sit still that long. Actually, in that regard it will not be unlike the business school graduation ceremonies I used to sing for back when I was in one of my university�s official choirs. So perhaps AJ is ready for the real world. You know, the world where he has a job working in a place. Of course, the reason the B-school grads were fidgety was because they had been drinking since dawn. I�m assuming that�s not going to be a problem for the preschoolers. I also assume that a bottle of champagne is not going to be an appropriate graduation gift for a preschooler. Perhaps a milkshake?

* * * * *

Thanks for all your comments on yesterday�s entry. I�m assuming that sooner or later AJ�s going to be in a more diverse environment � we are unlikely to remain in suburbia forever, and een public school kindergarten is likely to be a somewhat more ethnically � if not economically � diverse environment than his private preschool, based on my observations at registration. But I really like the fact that it�s a non-issue for him at the moment. See yesterday�s comments for an additional response. Elgan has also written her own response here.

4 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>