spynotes ::
  May 01, 2006
D-Day

I have spent the morning trying to map out AJ�s summer entertainment, which rivals in complexity the invasion of Normandy (come to think of it, summer camp starts on June 6. Coincidence? I think not!). I have requested some solid blocks of summer camp so I can get some work done � he�ll have more fun at camp than with a babysitter, I am certain. AJ has asked for T-Ball and a class for learning a foreign language � either French or Spanish; his choice changes daily, and some gymnastics.

I thought I�d finally got it worked out: T-Ball on Saturdays, language school on Fridays, and summer camp M-Th, alternating between the camp at his preschool and gymnastics camp and a camp run by our local park district. The first two summer camps are just blocks from our house, which makes the work commute easy. But they are significantly fewer hours a week than the park district one, which isn�t all that far anyhow. The language school is farther, but it�s right by the best area public library, so I should still be able to get work done. It was all sounding good and then I discovered a problem � the three summer camps have very different schedules. One meets three mornings a week, another four mornings a week, and the third five mornings a week. While the third would seem a bargain, it also will conflict with the language school idea. On the other hand, language school is $17/hour, while camp is only $3.50. Still, I should be investing in AJ�s future, not nickel and diming, right? What if I invested the difference in AJ�s college fund?

I�m starting to feel like a word problem. You should see the charts and graphs I�ve amassed! He only has three and a half more weeks of preschool. Egads! I hope I can figure this out by then. Well, at least I registered him for T-ball today. Nothing else meets on Saturdays. I can�t even imagine what this is like with more than one child. Actually, yes I can. I�m just glad it�s not me.

AJ will be graduating in �a square hat� on the morning of May 24th. There is sure to be a big crowd of extended family in attendance, since AJ has too many relatives with too much time on their hands. It is likely to be one of the most photographed events in history. If AJ ever becomes famous, there will be many photos to sell to the tabloids, even if I neglect to invest that extra money in his college fund.

Damn! I just realized I forgot swimming lessons. Time to draw a new chart. Then again, maybe I should invade France. It would be simpler.

* * * * *

It has just come to my attention that this is my 1,000th entry. Hell, how did that happen?

10 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>