spynotes ::
  May 02, 2006
This might be a little cold

There is something satisfyingly perverse about listening to Kraftwerk while working in quiet reading room of the public library (also known as the local history room), which is what I am currently doing.

I have just arrived at said library from my first gynecological appointment in five years. I last lay splayed on the table at my six week post-partum visit. AJ slept in the corner in his carrier.

This is, of course, a new doctor, seeing as the commute to the last one was a little unwieldy. It�s an entirely female practice � everyone from doctors to secretarial staff. Strangely, I�ve never had a female gynecologist, at least not a regular one. I used to go to Planned Parenthood, just because the university health system was so insane and the nurse-practitioners there were all women. But that was a different kind of place � highly clinical.

This place tried to be as unclinical as possible. It was as if they were trying to convince you that you�d walked into a spa instead of a doctor�s office (the fact that they have a masseuse on staff doesn�t hurt that image). Nor do the flowers in the exam rooms. And hand lotion. And an array of feminine hygiene products artfully arranged in a painted ceramic box. And you should see the bathroom � glamourous. Instead of the clinical table, I was seated on something that looked like a lazyboy�with stirrups (well, some things are non-negotiable), giving me the impression that I was about to be served tea instead of a speculum up the hoohah. Hey, what do you know! Tea! But also, eventually, speculum. Like I said, some things are non-negotiable. Still, it was about as pleasant as such a visit can be. And when I took a closer look at some of the wall art, I was amused. The exam room included a page from a 1950s manual on housewifery. The bathroom included a copy of a Toulouse-Lautrec painting (made by one of the doctors) of prostitutes lining up for medical exams, looking bored in their underwear.

There was one slight problem, however: a lack of soundproofness. I was surrounded on all sides by the sounds of baby heartbeats. I was unprepared for the hormonal effect of that sound. It�s one of the best sounds in the world. Somehow I wound up walking out with a prescription for prenatal vitamins as well as one for a mammogram. No one told me my late thirties were going to be this confusing.


5 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>