spynotes ::
  May 12, 2006
Heart half full

Scene: Harriet�s kitchen, last night.

AJ: Daddy?

Husband: Yes, AJ?

AJ: Something happened yesterday that even though my heart was half full � of love � it got filled all the way up.

Husband: What happened?

AJ: Z. told me I was his best friend in the whole world.

* * * * *

The above conversation was reported to me immediately upon my return from yoga class last night. I don�t know where AJ gets some of his turns of phrase, but he can be downright poetic.

I got my comeuppance at class last night for being cocky about kakasana last week. I seem to be both more flexible and have greater overall strength, especially in my arms, than most people in my yoga classes and I can coast on that a lot of the time. But I was reminded last night, as I tried repeatedly and to get into Bird-of-Paradise [Click the link and scroll down to �Asana of the month� for a picture], that there is no substitute for experience. It doesn't look so bad, does it? Except, at least the way we did it last night, you get into it from a wide-legged squat and then straighten first your standing leg, then the one you're holding up in the air. Even though I had no problem with the flexibility the position requires and I knew intellectually how to get into the pose, when I tried to stand up with my arms wrapped around my leg and behind my back, I keeled over like a roped steer. And there�s nothing that makes you feel more dorky than falling down in front of everybody. Even as the person on the mat next to mine and also the instructor came over to help me, I couldn�t stop giggling long enough to get my balance. I think I�ll have to practice this one in the privacy of my own home, lest I become a semi-professional yogic comedian.

The rain continues to fall, and the cold wind continues to blow. We�ve taken three steps back on the road towards summer and it�s now feeling almost like fall again. AJ�s preschool class had to rearrange it�s plans for �Olympics day,� which was to involve lots of silly games like sack races outside. Instead they will be doing some kind of obstacle course indoors, which is sure to result in mass mayhem. We�ll get to see the results in a few hours, along with the secret Mother�s Day presents they�ve been working so hard on.

Meanwhile, I�d better get back to work. The clock seems to be ticking away faster and faster with each passing day.

5 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>