spynotes ::
  June 02, 2006
The sounds of the city sifting through the trees

This weekend is looking to be an unexpected revisiting of my past. Tomorrow AJ and I are hoping to hook up with lemming and family. Lemming and I go back more than a decade, although I haven't seen her in years. I met her via her fiancé (now husband) who was a year behind me in grad school. Her husband (he blogs too, but I'll forgo the link in the interest of keeping lemming's online identity sufficiently obscured) and I sang in several choirs together, including the one I directed (he did some conducting himself). Lemming's husband ended up leaving academia for a business degree and a far more practical position in the world of music. Lemming and I reconnected after I haphazardly stumbled on her husband's blog a few months ago. Since then we've been comparing notes on the insanity of raising small children while writing dissertations.

This weekend is also, as it happens, the weekend that my particular institution of higher learning has its reunions. And this year a group of people I knew as college students in my first years of graduate school are reuning. My friend J. (mother of AJ's friend Z., whom I've written about in the past but not recently, as we haven't seen each other in a while) is hosting a post-reunion brunch. A number of old friends and acquaintances will be there, including an old boyfriend and also my very good friend H. My husband will be staying home -- he's met most of these people before and will, I think, be bored with the inevitable post-reunion reminiscing. AJ is going with me, though, and he is very excited to see his friend Z for the first time in months and months.

I'm looking forward to reconnecting with some old friends. It will be especially nice after spending the afternoon amongst the group of chauffeur mothers at a graduation party for AJ's preschool class at the home of one of his friends. As I stood among women discussing their children's summer schedules, almost all of which included stints in Vacation Bible School, I felt like I'd dropped in from another planet. AJ, however, was in his element -- trampolines, musical chairs, ice cream. What could be better? Even the brief thunderstorm that rolled through didn't dampen the spirits of the 20-some-odd preschoolers tearing around the place.

[Second entry today; click back for AJ's tour of the Art Institute of Chicago and Millennium Park]

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>