spynotes ::
  June 04, 2006
Veni, vidi, googli

Sadly, lemming and I were not able to get together. One of her children was not feeling well after her drive to our neck of the woods. But perhaps it was just as well, because AJ definitely got up on the wrong side of the bed this morning. He spent much of the day stomping around and complaining about everything. Even when The Girl Next Door came by in the afternoon, a much anticipated visit, the two spent most of the time squabbling as AJ tried to make her do what he wanted to do.

I was not, if truth be told, in the best of humors myself. AJ�s behavior was wearing on my last nerve. It was a spectacularly beautiful day and yet the two of us were busy being surly. And this afternoon I had to do some creative bill paying, as property taxes are due Monday and a couple of checks are overdue � the curse of life as a freelancer. I don�t like creative bill paying. I like my numbers to add up. I have a very low tolerance for debt. I have also spent far too little time this week speaking to people over the age of five. While advanced age is certainly no guarantee of maturity or even of conversation � very often the preschoolers are among the most interesting people I talk to � I do get very tired of hearing innumerable maternal clich�s emerging from my own mouth in my own voice. You know what I mean: �Because I said so, that�s why.� �Don�t argue with me, just do it.� And I wonder where AJ gets his bossy streak.

Then again, bossiness is, I believe, part of my job description. Although, I don�t believe �blind submission� is part of AJ�s job description, and mostly I don�t want it to be, on these days of constant argument, sometimes I wish it were. True confessions today.

We are currently in the throes of preparations to take yet another train ride (AJ is beside himself with joy) cityward for a reunion brunch. Most of the rest of the attendees graduated from college together. I am on the fringes of the core group, having been friends with some but not with others. Some I�ve never met, but have only heard of. Being nervous about both the reacquaintance with people I haven�t seen in years and meeting new people, I did what any rational person would do � I came, I saw, I googled. It looks to be a pretty artsy bunch � a bunch of actors (the core group mostly knew each other from college theatrical ventures � I knew my subset from choir, which a number of them did too) and others in theatrical fields, a couple of lawyers moonlighting as artists of one sort or another, a writer. One person coming once dated two different people in the rest of the group. Two others reportedly attending once dated each other for a decade before splitting up and repairing to opposite coasts. There is a lot of potential for drama. If nothing else, it should be an interesting afternoon.

AJ is looking forward to playing with his friend Z for the first time in ages (their school and activity schedules are such that they can only coordinate playdates in the summer) and also to seeing her spectacular swingset again. I haven�t even mentioned to him the possibility that there might be a sprinkler involved. That would be too much happiness. Instead, I will try to slip his swim trunks into my bag. I�m pretty sure that �devious� is part of my job description. If not, I�ll petition for an addendum.

3 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>