spynotes ::
  June 05, 2006
I remember the thirty-five sweet goodbyes

The reunion was entertaining. There�s something very strange about reencountering your past in that manner. It�s like an episode of �This is your life,� except that you�re not the center of attention. It�s more of a view to an alternate universe where you did not move on after college. It was so funny to see all those people in one room again. I kept wondering why they all looked so OLD. Surely I don�t look that old, do I? I don�t feel that old. Some things never change, though. The blowhard was still a blowhard. The ex was still uptight and strange. But the crazy idiot, the one who once, when I was stuck in an airplane seat next to him the first time we spoke, grilled me about my feelings on oral sex all the way from Chicago to California (or so it seemed), is now a business owner, married to someone I genuinely liked and the amazing father of an amazing 18-month-old who did not, I think, stop smiling the entire time we were there.

AJ took off the moment we arrived to play with his friend Z and I scarcely saw him until it was time to go, which meant lots of time for visiting. We stayed a little too long � it is always tricky to figure out a graceful exit from such gatherings.

Today, it was back to the grindstone. I taught my first water aerobics class of the season, and, Smed, started the warm-up with the Meat Purveyors� (who were actually playing at the bar around the corner from my old apartment this weekend) Madonna Trilogy, which was met with great enthusiasm. [By the way, the pre-concert press mentioned that the band did, I believe, a cover of a Foreigner song. I may have to track that one down]. I was pleased to see the woman who dropped out halfway through last summer after falling off a ladder � she broke her back, arm, both legs, smashed her foot and lost sight in one eye. She still is in a fair amount of pain and walks with a cane, but she was one of the first ones in the pool this morning. Her face lit up as she realized that she could move much more easily in the water. We had two new people this morning, one who will become a regular and the other, a 12-year-old, I�m not sure about, given that most of the other students have grandchildren her age. I hope she comes back, though, she was great. And, it turns out, she�s the sister of the boy who likes to talk about Ben Franklin.

1 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>