spynotes ::
  June 22, 2006
Fin

Here are the answers to Monday�s movie meme. With luck, there will be a real entry later, but today will be a little hectic, so I�m not sure.

1. My wife�s on a bender. I�m trying to sober her up.
NOBODY The Thin Man (Nick)

2. I said I wanna see a Plaster of Paris bagel and cream cheese paperweight, now cough it up.
SAUCY99 After Hours (Paul)

3. Do you steal the dresses of all singers?
ELGAN Diva (Cynthia)

4. When you�re slapped, you�ll take it and like it.
SPARKSPARK The Maltese Falcon (Sam Spade)

5. Honey, I�m thinking of switching to the mock turtleneck.
SAUCY99 Best in Show (Hamilton)

6. I�m off the grid, man!
NOBODY Box of Moonlight (The Kid)

7. Serpentine, (character name)! Serpentine!
LASS The In-Laws (Vince)

8. People like blood sausage too. People are morons.
SAUCY99 Groundhog Day (Phil)

9. And two hard-boiled eggs. Make that three hard-boiled eggs.
ANNANOTBOB A Night at the Opera (Groucho as Otis P. Driftwood)

10. The first is never get involved in a land war in Asia
MELWADEL The Princess Bride (Vizzini)

11. Is it my face that irritates them? Or just the stale smell of Eastern Europe?
NOBODY Meeting Venus (Zoltan)

I didn�t really expect anyone to get Box of Moonlight, which is one of my favorite films, despite its flaws and the fact that the only people I know who have seen it are people I have forced to watch it. John Turturro plays the lead, pre-Big Night and Barton Fink. Nor did I expect anyone to get Meeting Venus, despite the fact that Glenn Close was the headliner. I don�t recall seeing Meeting Venus in the theater, but I caught it on video after it was recommended by a friend who used to work at Lyric Opera of Chicago. Anyone who has ever been involved backstage in a theatrical or especially operatic production will in all likelihood find it hilarious. The film had higher aspirations � it was supposed to be a metaphor for the rocky process of the solidification of the European Union. That metaphor did not work so well, but as a movie about opera, it�s extremely amusing. And the soundtrack, which features Dame Kiri Te Kanawa singing for Glenn Close�s character, is terrific.

I was a bit surprised that noone got Groundhog Day. That has always, to me, been the funniest line in the film, but out of context, I guess it does have different possible connotations.
CORRECTION: Saucy99 got #8 as Groundhog Day, but I missed it. My apologies for possibly maligning Saucy's clearly superior film quote ID skills!

5 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>