spynotes ::
  July 06, 2006
It's a nice day to start again.

Today has been a day full of good news for grad school friends. My friend E. had her baby (her second) over the weekend and he�s beautiful (of course). And my friend L. got engaged yesterday to her wonderful boyfriend D. Hooray for everyone! Perhaps I will toast you with champagne later. Right now, however, you�ll have to settle for a seltzer toast, as I still have some work to do.

AJ�s friend Ben Franklin Boy came over this morning to play. First playdates are always a little tricky. The kids aren�t quite sure of how to interact at first. And the parents have to dance around the playdate variables � do the visiting parents stay or go? How long before you pick them up? What happens if they�re having a bad time?

But, in fact, all was well. I�m always happy to host without the visiting parents, working under the assumption that it means I might get a kid-free day myself somewhere down the line. Plus, two kids are often easier than one because they entertain each other. AJ and Ben Franklin Boy went up to AJ�s room first. I stayed downstairs eavesdropping shamelessly. From what I could tell, at first AJ was watching BFB walk around his room looking at things and talking to himself. BFB is a big talker, even more than AJ. BFB also has a tendency to bark out random facts about early American history as complete non sequiturs, which AJ finds a little unnerving. But eventually they figured out how to play together. Between AJ�s toy-filled room, a couple of Schoolhouse Rock singalongs -- a round of baseball in the yard and a fort-building project in the family room that turned into a giggling wrestling match, the morning passed quickly. We sent BFB home with some of my husband�s books on his favorite subjects, which he sat down to read in the middle of the driveway. He really reminds me of AJ sometimes.

My favorite BFB quote of the day was when he was telling me about his dog: �Wowie. She�s a golden retriever. She�s 8 years old. But in dog years she�s the same age as my grandpa. He�s 48 or 49 or 70.�

I don't think he saw me laughing. But you can never be sure.

8 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>