spynotes ::
  July 28, 2006
She says that morning sun sure does get her down

We're scheduled to go out for my birthday tonight, although my birthday's not until Sunday. We had to work around our babysitter's camp schedule, which is fine. The problem is that my husband has not figured out what we're going to do. "There's nothing to do out here," he laments (he's mostly right, and he has spent some serious time researching the matter). He points out an example of a nearby event in the paper. "Here's the best I could find." The ad reads, "Some of the finest high school and college musicians in [Back-of-Beyond] County. Tickets $18." I roll my eyes.

"We could go into the city," he suggests, when be both know we won't. It's too far, too hot and we'll be doing that in a few days for a concert by some of the finest professional musicians from in the world. Tickets: $0.

The babysitter is coming at six tonight and AJ has already commenced his complaining. He who has never once given us a problem with leaving has suddenly started having separation anxiety. Last time she came, he cried for the first time ever in his babysitting history. I hope he gets through this phase soon.

So I suspect it will be another night of driving aimlessly around the suburbs until it's late enough that we�re not embarrassed about coming home in defeat. Otherwise I'm going to have to plan my own birthday dinner, which I really don't think I should have to do.

Really, I think celebrating birthdays (mine, that is) has become a total waste of my time.

AJ, though, needs celebrations. This afternoon, as we were walking inside from the mailbox where he had peered hopefully for mail from him (he did at least get a note from his grandma inside my birthday card), he asked, "So who's coming for your birthday?" I had to explain to him that there was no party. His jaw dropped. I told him he could be in charge of the party. "Make sure Daddy gets a cake."

He nodded seriously. "But what about balloons?"

"Well, we have balloons. I'll help you blow them up.

"And what about the Happy Birthday sign?"

"If I find it, I'll let you hang it up."

"Okay. Can I help you blow out the candles?"

"Sweetie, with 39 candles, I need all the help I can get."

"Maybe we'll set off the smoke alarm." (I accidentally set it off today with the feather duster)

"I wouldn't be surprised at all."

6 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>