spynotes ::
  September 22, 2006
Jack's feeling dull

Maybe it�s just that AJ�s in school five days a week now or maybe it�s the look on the faces of all the kids as they barrel out the school doors on Friday afternoon, but ever since AJ started kindergarten I�ve been feeling differently about the weekends. They feel like, well, weekends. The problem with working at home is that you never really feel like you go home from work and it�s easy to lose track of what day of the week it is. It�s nice feeling an earned rest at the end of the week.

And this week, I do feel it�s earned. I�ve finished my syllabus and most of my lectures and am nearly done with my first example CD. I�ve also learned how to use iTunes to make CDs for my listening exams � still known as needle-drop tests, even though the technology no longer involves needles or dropping.

AJ�s been busy too. Although they don�t seem to be doing much in school � they watched a video in music class. Again. And one of the classroom stations this week is �Candyland.� But at home he�s been asking lots of questions about squaring numbers, and so we�ve started in on geometry and multiplication. Every day when we walk to school, AJ asks to count by a different number. And then there�s the ongoing skeleton project. I think we�re all ready for a rest. I�m starting my weekend by thinking about beer. AJ�s starting his weekend lounging on the couch in front of Spongebob Squarepants with his best friend.


Scene: Harriet�s family room. AJ and The Girl Next Door are watching a commercial for a game during a break in Spongebob Squarepants, which is their favorite show.

AJ: Did the boy win or the girl win?
The Girl Next Door: The girl wins. Girls almost always win during commercials.
AJ: Yeah. That�s because they want you to buy it.

She�s right, too. They do almost always win in commercials. Madison Avenue gets nothing by these kids. I�m starting to see why some are complaining about boys getting left behind. But I�m not totally unhappy that AJ is feeling like he�s not the target audience. Anything that keeps him less acquisitive is fine with me.

My head is in ninety different places today, which is not the best way to begin writing about everything, even a blog, which tends to be more forgiving of such things. So maybe it�s time to stop and look for that beer. Happy weekend, everyone. And happy Rosh Hashanah to those who celebrate it. Even if you�re not in New York.

1 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>