spynotes ::
  September 28, 2006
Glimmering

Today feels better. My shower reminded me of yesterday and the sight of a man getting off the train carrying his little boy on his shoulders gave me the feeling of something catching in my throat. But otherwise today is more peaceful.

This morning I squinted into the sun as I watched the whitecaps on the lake crash into Promontory Point. I used to swim there. I�d climb down the mossy rocks into the frigid water until I could stand it no longer. Then I�d lie on one of the cement rectangles, a weird formation that always reminded me more of Easter Island than of the benches they are supposed to be. They are carved and adorned in various ways. One has turned into a mermaid.

Last night my neighbor tailored the yoga class to me, knowing I needed cheering up. It was restorative and lovely, but I was still exhausted. I slept like a rock until 4:55, just before my alarm went off. I�m like clockwork too.

Class today was not quite as stellar as Tuesday, but not bad considering the circumstances. I made the mistake of flying off my outline, which means I have to reconstruct things for next week a little bit. And in my efforts to explain the subject that confuses the most people, I inadvertently misspoke the names of two of the terms. I realized quickly what I had done, and I think I clarified adequately, but I�m sure I�ll have to do it all again on Tuesday to make sure they get it.

It is a beautiful, sunny fall day. I thought I had a meeting after class, but, in fact, I don�t. It�s a quarter to 11 and I can head for home. I like this morning teaching thing a lot.

AJ has his first ever standardized test today. I have to say that I�m dying of curiosity to see how that�s going to turn out. Fortunately, they test kindergarteners individually, with the teachers doing most of the writing. Because if they had to color in those little circles, AJ would be demanding an array of crayons.


1 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>