spynotes ::
  September 29, 2006
How many days

Scene: Harriet�s car, en route to the ice rink to meet a friend of AJ�s

AJ: Mommy, how long is N. going to be sad?

Harriet: I don�t know, sweetie. It might be a long time.

AJ: How many days?

Harriet: I don�t know. Everybody�s different.

AJ: Would it help if I gave him a hug?

Harriet: It might, sweetie. It just might.

* * * * *

Today I wrote a letter to N�s mom. Usually I have a hard time figuring out what to write in sympathy cards, but this time it was tragically easy. There�s just so much to say.

* * * * *

Tomorrow�s our anniversary. AJ�s favorite babysitter is coming over tonight so we can go see this guy, who has the sexiest voice in jazz. Think Barry White but with better music. My husband came home with one of his CDs shortly after we got married. It�s one of the CDs we took with us to the hospital when AJ was born. So going to hear him live seems like a fitting way to celebrate our anniversary.

Unfortunately, I may not be able to get as glammed up as I would like. Yesterday, heading home, my first train was late, which left me 20 minutes to sprint across the loop in heels to catch the second train. I made it (barely), but I now have two enormous blisters on the soles of my heels and aching calves from running with my feet at an unnatural angle.

Maybe I should start teaching in my running shoes.

* * * * *

AJ did, as predicted, love the standardized testing. We have not, however, been able to get much information out of him about what he had to do, other than the fact that he had to read some books out loud to his teacher and one of them was The Carrot Seed. We will remain in the dark for a while, I think.

6 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>