spynotes ::
  October 19, 2006
Horse Face Ethel and her marvelous pigs in satin

Having guest lecturers on Tuesday seems to have been the thing to get me out of my Tuesday=great/Thursday=crap teaching rut. I gave what I felt was one of my best lectures of the year today with no run through and for the most part without looking at my notes. Apparently, in teaching, all bets are off. Unfortunately, I took a little too long doing it, so by Monday I�m pretty sure I�m going to be just about an entire class behind. I need to spend some time trying to figure out how to make it up. I take some consolation that the same thing happened last year at exactly the same spot and for exactly the same reason (guests in class that weren�t originally in the syllabus). Hopefully next time I�ll learn from my mistakes and build some extra time into class. I never have a problem finding enough to say. Where does the time go?

I have an extra hour of office time this morning, as I�m meeting with two prospective students from Ireland for lunch. One of them contacted me off our department website, I think because I have on there that Irish traditional music is one of my areas of scholarly interest. I�m looking forward to talking about something musical yet completely different from both class and dissertation. Unfortunately, I have to go to the library to meet them. This wouldn�t ordinarily be problematic, but I currently have 30 overdue books so I�m worried that there�s a block on my ID and I won�t be able to get in. I�m not usually quite this delinquent, but I�ve renewed so many times that I have to physically bring the books in this time (you have to do that once a year, never mind that I am the only one to have ever checked out most of these books). And bringing 30 books on the train at 6 a.m. really doesn�t sound so appealing. I keep thinking I�m going to drive in one weekend and take AJ to a museum, but it keeps not happening. I think I�m going to have to bite the bullet and schlep them the hard way. I keep reminding myself that this should be the last time I have to do this before I return them for good, but it doesn�t seem to help me have a better attitude.

I now need to write a quiz for Tuesday, plan my next two lectures, and figure out what I�m serving my cousins when they come over on Saturday. I�m currently feeling like something hardy like lasagna. I�m also feeling lazy, though, which may preclude lasagna.

This really couldn�t get less interesting. The only thing I have to offer by way of entertainment is that a unicyclist just rode across the flagstone path below my window carrying a huge stack of books. Apparently I�m not the only one who feels like the university is a circus.

1 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>