spynotes ::
  October 29, 2006
Out of this world

I�ve been working on a CD for AJ with songs for each planet (and a few other space objects) in the solar system -- we�ve opted to include Pluto at his request. The goal is to have good tunes, to have the name of the heavenly body mentioned in the song lyrics (so we�ve ruled out Jimi Hendrix�s �Uranus Rock� thanks to the incomprehensibility of Jim Morrison on poorly miked (probably for the best) vocals). So far I have the following:

Sun: �Why does the sun shine� by They Might be Giants

Mercury: �Mercury� by Throwing Muses

Venus: �Venus� by Bananarama

Earth: �Holding onto the Earth� by Sam Philips

Moon: �Pink Moon� by Nick Drake

Mars: �Girl from Mars� by Ash

Jupiter: �Jupiter� by Earth, Wind and Fire

Saturn: �Saturn Return� by R.E.M.

Uranus: �The Thing from Uranus� by Sloppy Seconds

Pluto: �Hallucinating Pluto� by the B-52s

I�m also thinking of adding �Interplanet Janet� from Schoolhouse Rock. If anyone has anything to recommend for Neptune or the asteroid belt, we would be grateful to have it. Also, if anyone has any other suggestions for the heavenly bodies mentioned above or any I�ve left out, I�d love to hear that too. (smed, are you reading this?)

And while we�re on the subject of mixes, freshhell sent me a fabulous-looking one. I�m hoping to get the chance to listen to it in the near future. Lots of female vocalists -- lways a good thing. I�ll post about it when I�ve had a chance to listen. Thanks, freshhell!

[Second entry today; click back for sumo wrestling and jokes]

7 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>