spynotes ::
  November 08, 2006
Practical advice from the grumpy

Another installment in Harriet�s book of practical advice for college students:

� If you can find the answer yourself, do it. If you ask me something that is on the syllabus or any other written thing that I�ve spent quite a bit of time on before I�ve given it to you, your grade may not suffer, but I may hate you just a little.

� If you show up to class late, do so in full business attire. It gives me the impression that you had something better to do.

� Do not under any circumstances tell me you are going to do something and then fail to do it. I will never trust you again. If you ask for an extension and turn the paper in later than that, you will fail. If you ask for an extra credit assignment and I agree to give it to you and spend hours devising it and you do not turn it in, you will not only fail � you will burn in hell.

� You can totally fake me out if you turn in crappy assignments early in the quarter and express a lot of angst about it and come to my office hours at least once a week until the midterm. Then, when you turn in a fabulous assignment toward the end of term, I will think I am a brilliant teacher and you will get a better grade than you deserve. But be careful � you�d better be mighty convincing and consistent. I can smell bullshit a mile away. I think.

� If you think you might have to turn something in late, ask me about it as early as possible and I�ll probably say yes if you�re doing okay in the class. If you�ve turned in all previous assignments in late and you ask you will fail and I will not care. Mostly.


5 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>