spynotes ::
  November 09, 2006
Bi-polar parade

I am having one of those weeks where my head is mostly in the clouds � or clouds of sound. This means I have been difficult too talk to and also that when I wake up to deal with practicalities, I have been grumpy or even angry about things. From the outside, I probably seem bi-polar, but it�s really just what it�s like to live in the world when I�m on one of my creative benders.

Irritants include SB(F)C (I think we all know what the F stands for when it comes to the phone company) which after asking me if it was okay to trim a shrub near a utility pole in the back of my yard to replace an aging wire, proceeded to cut down an oak sapling and a 10-foot tall, 25 �year-old vibernum bush. To the ground. And left all the branches for us to cart away, which, considering the chipping season is over, we are going to have to live with until spring. I am livid. Not only that, they left a large snake of wire, still clipped to another utility pole lying on the ground where AJ and his friends play. And they had the nerve to act annoyed when I insisted they remove their ladders from the pole when they left so children wouldn�t be tempted to climb up them � the pole is in the back next to the horse trail that a lot of the kids use as a cut through on their way home from school. They begrudgingly took them down and left them in a heap on top of my flower beds along with a great deal of garbage. They have spent two days blocking our driveway with their trucks, eating their lunch in the middle of our drive and throwing their garbage everywhere and doing everything but work, at least as far as I can tell. We�re looking at day number three today. If they are still there when I get home, I am going after them. Possibly with a two-by-four.

Other irritants include the New York Times for delivering only half the paper yesterday (where�s my food section?) and then failing to deliver a replacement after they said they would. Also AJ�s school for losing his school photo order and thus making me have to pay twice as much for photos than I would have if they�d turned in my order. But how can you not buy your kid�s school photos? Especially when the kid is as cute as AJ?

But at least the new carpet is in and looks beautiful and feels nice on your toes, so nice that AJ and The Girl Next Door ran in yesterday in their bare feet and did a happy dance in the middle of the room.

But I�ve been retreating from the annoying details of practical life and instead have been wandering around in a haze of tunes filling my head at every moment of the day. There are numerous memes around for random iTune shuffles to see what turns up for certain categories. One I recently posted in this space was supposed to generate the soundtrack of your life. But I�m really much more interested in what you perceive as the soundtrack of your life. So here�s what I�m thinking: Take a day in your life and identify tracks � enough to fill and still fit on a CD � to reflect your day. You can hook the tracks to certain events. You can choose them using any criteria you want � correctness of lyrics, music you heard at a given moment, general sentiment, fondness. Post your playlist and we�ll see a day in music. I think it might be interesting to pick a particular day where everyone would do it at once. Anyone else interested? I�d like to see what a day in music looks like, along the lines of the photo books that document a day in the life of a city or country or the world. If you�d be willing to give this a go, leave me a comment. Also, if you have any suggestions for a date on which to do this, mention that too.

This morning has been brought to you by my Zach Brock, Beethoven, Berlioz, Schubert and Smetana. Hmm. All Bs and Ss. B. S. -- something else that reminds me of the phone company. Current soundtrack: The heat blowing through the vent above my desk.

6 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>