spynotes ::
  December 05, 2006
A witches tit, a welldiggers ass

The exam is over. The papers are sitting ready for my critical pen. And most importantly, my toes have finally regained feeling.

I am dressed today in one of those outfits that I�m pretty sure would make me look like a crazy person in any other climate. Given that the temperature was a less-than-hospitable 3 degrees Fahrenheit when I left the house this morning, I donned two pairs of tights and a pair of wooly socks under my wool cropped pants and boots. An extra silk camisole went under my sweater, which I topped with a turtleneck down vest followed by my most enormous, nearly ankle-length mohair and wool coat, a scarf wrapped up to my nose, a thick polarfleece hat pulled down over my eyebrows and a giant pair of mittens.

At least, though, I can bend. When I dropped AJ off at school yesterday, I saw another parent removing a preschooler from his carseat. The child had on so many layers, that he was completely incapable of folding in any direction. The mother picked him up and tucked him under her arm sideways � he remained flat as a board � while she tucked his seatbelt back in the car. Once she put him on the ground, he managed to stagger with stiffened legs over to the stairs like a miniature Frankenstein, whereupon he got stuck and had to yell through three feet of scarf wrapped around his face for assistance.

Those staggering about this school are mostly doing it under the weight of library books, piles of which are being returned as papers are finished, exams are taken, and students prepare to trek home for the holidays. My own staggering has mainly to do with the annoying habit of my feet to lose any sense of circulation the second I step out the door on a cold day. I was half-tempted to plunge them into my cup of coffee this morning in lieu of consuming it the ordinary way. The idea of hot liquid on my cold toes is still appealing in the extreme. Perhaps I�ll reward myself with a steaming bath when I get home.

A student is walking around in a T-shirt, an old one that sports the name of our fine institution of higher learning with the legend, "Hell does freeze over." If it is true, it says a lot.

7 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>