spynotes ::
  December 19, 2006
Hoedown

I was thinking this morning that I could use a meme today. Something to spur me to write something when my brain is feeling fried by the umpteenth hearing of the Jackson 5�s �I saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus� on the radio or possibly by the nine million packages I wrapped last night (apparently I am half elf. Who knew?) or maybe even by a bit of undigested beef or a blob of mustard.

In any case, freshhell came through for me, even though I still haven�t mailed her Christmas card. Here�s how it works:

Anyone who wants to play, send a note or email me and I�ll send you a letter of the alphabet. You have to come up with ten things you love that start with that letter. Freshhell sent me the letter H �for Harriet.� At first I thought this would be easy. But because I am contrary, I first came up with a list of things I hate that start with the letter H. Like Hate. Starts with the letter H. Yeah. Things like Health insurance companies and Hairnets and hantavirus and having the Hiccups. But then I walked AJ to school and thought of a bunch of possibilities.

1. Husband. Well, duh. He�s great in too many ways to mention here. Plus, most of them are none of your business.

2. Hugs. Especially AJ�s and Mr. Spy�s.

3. History. One of my passions, obviously, since it�s what I do. Also, you could let Julia tell you what happens when you make an offhand remark about my zip code. Oh, hell, I�ll tell you: you get a lecture on local history! Because it�s fun, that�s why! At least to me. Which leads me to my next H:

4. Humor. You could humor me. Or you could just make me laugh. Either one is worth inclusion on this list.

5. Yoga. What? Yoga doesn�t begin with H? Well, yes, I am aware of that small problem. If you insist on being picky, I�ll substitute Hatha yoga or Handstands or Headstands or something like that. But it�s really the whole shebang. My current obsession.

6. Hemiola. Because hemiola is what makes music fun. It�s when the composer decides to mess with your mind. It�s Brahms and Philip Glass and Frank Zappa especially.

7. Hellebores. They are the first flowers to bloom in the spring and often push up through the snow. The flowers last for months floating in a bowl and dry beautifully. They are spectacular plants.

8. Holidays. As many as possible, as well-celebrated as possible. They are the best.

9. Hopscotch. Every day that we walk to school, AJ and I make sure to walk across the side of the playground with the hopscotch painted on the blacktop, so we can hop through it.

10. harri3tspy. I�ve gotten quite used to my online alter ego and love the space I inhabit when I write here.

Okay, this wasn�t very inspired. Maybe things will improve after a nap. I wish nap started with H. I guess I�ll have to Hit the Hay.

7 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>