spynotes ::
  December 30, 2006
a flick of ash

Somehow � the spirit of the season no doubt � I let AJ talk me into taking him to one of the local Preschool Palaces o� Fun (TM pending) this afternoon. It is the least offensive of said locations, the worst offender being Chuckie�s, closely followed by PumpItUp � a name which always simultaneously reminds me of Jane Fonda aerobics videos and those SNL weight-lifters. The place we�re going today is a local chain and while it is noisy and annoying, it is mostly indoor carnival rides with a few video games thrown in. There�s a roller coaster, bumper cars, and those little airplanes that go around and around while the kids riding them can shift a lever and move the planes up and down. There�s also a giant Habitrail for kids. So while I still get a headache when I go there, at least the kids are running around and not staring vacantly at machine screens. We�re meeting up with some friends of AJ�s, so at least I won�t be standing around alone. I�ve been cursed with an exceptional bout of misanthropy today, so I�m trying not to think about it too much. I should also probably stay off the bumper cars. Or at least try not to cackle maniacally while driving.

There�s something about these places � so many lights and colors and noises � that make me want to dress all in black and hang around reading Baudelaire (en fran�ais, bien sur) and smelling vaguely of clove cigarettes. In other words, I have pretty much the same reaction to them that I did to high school. I should probably think about that.

5 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>