spynotes ::
  January 10, 2007
Science!

At his request, we have signed AJ up for his school�s science fair. He is extremely excited and has been thinking hard over what to research. I suggested he come up with some questions he�d like to know the answer to while I researched possible projects. My goal is to provide him with a list of 3-5 projects I think we might actually be able to accomplish in the next month, projects that mesh with his interests from which he can choose.

So far the best idea I�ve had is to study the water cycle using a terrarium � a science fair clich�, perhaps, but still something worth doing. AJ thought it sounded like fun until he thought some more. �We can�t do that, Mommy. We already know what it�s going to do.� Good point. We know this project should work. What then?

Here are some of the things AJ is wondering about:

How does wood make splinters?

If you put heat up to a fan and turn it on, is the heat still hot?

Why do you need a pupil? [He nixed that one, though, because a) he already knows the answer and b) he doesn�t think we can conduct an experiment giving the limitations of our laboratory kitchen table.]

How does nectar grow from a flower?

What happens if you use plastic windows instead of glass in a house?

And then, of course, are his endless questions about space. The one I got today was, �Do black holes ever end?� Clearly I�m going to have my work cut out for me trying to find a project for him. If anyone has any good science project suggestions for an extremely curious five-year-old with a musicologist for an assistant, I�m all ears.

7 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>