spynotes ::
  February 02, 2007
Possibly the most boring entry I've ever written

I am getting a little tired on working on my ten year old desktop with my 20 year old monitor. I�m still not sure what�s up with my laptop. I opted to have it fixed, providing it was nothing more than the hard drive. My old machine is a workhorse and I put a lot of money into its memory -- I maxed out everything. I won�t be able to do that with the new machine, at least not right now. As of yesterday, they�d installed the new hard drive and were in the process of trying to salvage my data. They said it might take a while. It�s been 24 hours and I still haven�t heard from them. Ack.

Today I visited the place we bought our old TV, where they confirmed that it�s a piece of crap and it would cost about as much to fix as to buy a new one. So we�re buying a new one.

Throughout all this, I�ve discovered my incredible penchant for getting worked up over decisions where there is no clear answer. The computer problem was not clear and I was working myself into a frenzy of anxiety over the decision. Like a crazy person frenzy. I finally just picked the path of least resistance because if I didn�t make a decision, I was likely to have a stroke. The TV was beautifully easy -- it was a clear decision and there is a clear choice. My favorite place to buy such things has one of the best prices I can find on the internet for it and they will deliver it and haul the old one out to the curb for free.

Sometimes I just want someone to tell me what to do.

It is frigid here in Chicagoland today. I think the temp around here maxed out at 7 around 2 p.m. It�s on its way down and the wind has kicked up. It would be a great night to curl up by the fire except that I have to go out to a semi-fancy restaurant to which I would ordinarily wear a skirt. Not today. Today they�ll get jeans and boots. Possibly with long underwear underneath. I�m a practical girl. Sort of. I mean, the boots are cherry red with 4 inch heels. I do have some standards. My dining companions are a couple of friends from high school, one of whom lives a couple of towns away from me and the other who is coming up to visit from Indy, where we all used to live. In a strange coincidence, our high school was on television last night, as ESPN broadcast a game from its gym.

This weekend will be full of yoga and television buying and AJ�s basketball and a surprise birthday party for Mr. Spy�s 80-year-old aunt (although I was instructed to avoid the 80th birthday cards as she is apparently trying to keep the age a secret). I hope the weekend will also be full of getting a laptop back. We shall see.

1 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>