spynotes ::
  February 07, 2007
Airborne rodents

With the frigid temperatures and the basement flooding, my office has been too cold and too stinky to work in of late, so I�ve migrated upstairs to my bedroom where I�ve been sitting in my favorite red chair, my feet propped on the footstool facing out to the enormous linden and the forest and stream beyond it. I didn�t feel particularly deprived when working in my dank cave of an office � I was happy to have a room of my own with plenty of space for two desks, as many bookshelves as I needed, my keyboard, recording equipment and music stand. But I have to say that working with a view outside has improved my overall outlook. I definitely need a bit of that lately.

Plus I just got to see a squirrel fall out of a tree. It�s always nice to have a little wildlife comic relief. Plus it reminded me of the time a squirrel knocked me unconscious [cue the way-back music performed by wavery harps]. It was a lovely spring day. It was my first year out of college and I was working at a theater company in Boston for an absurdly low wage. My friend D. and I decided to take our lunches to Boston Common to enjoy the spring weather. We walked the couple of blocks to the park and sat on a bench under a tree opposite the pond where the swan boats ferry tourists around. I got out my sandwich and started to take a bite. And then I was lying on the sidewalk. Apparently, a squirrel fell out of the tree, landed on my head and knocked me to the ground, scratching up my scalp in the process. D. helped me up and I made it back to the office, although I was pretty muddy from where I�d landed. We told the story to the rest of the office to explain my state and they laughed loud and hard at me for several days.

Well, that was a fairly pointless story. It�s going to have to do for an entry today, though, as I have to head up to AJ�s school for my first volunteer day. I�m really looking forward to it and AJ is very excited. He was running through all the classroom rules for me beforehand, to make sure I behaved myself. I�ve got to remember to wash my hands when I arrive.

6 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>