spynotes ::
  February 15, 2007
Bring in the Illinoise

I finally caved and bought Sufjan Stevens� Illinoise album. I got tired of hearing how great it was and I wasn�t even interested in hearing it. But I�ve been a little curious. And also, I was putting together a playlist of songs about Chicago and it seemed like a necessity. So I guess the hype, for once was based on something. I still haven�t heard the whole thing, but the music and lyrics both are incredibly compelling, as is his voice. The arrangements are varied and interesting and totally up my alley � lots of strings and jazz and acoustic guitar.

Interestingly, I had iTunes on randomize and after Sufjan�s �John Wayne Gacy, Jr.� came the first movement of Bach�s Partita #3 (this version was played by Hilary Hahn) and it flowed surprisingly well.

There will be more music talk here soon when the papers are under control. I have a backlog of Smed disks to review.

I�m also contemplating the purchase of an iPod shuffle. It�s so tiny and cute. And I have a credit at the apple store that�s about to expire (I was hoping to use it on my repair, but it�s apparently only good on purchases) that would more than cover it. Thoughts on the machine, anyone? Am I better off holding out for a fancier iPod? I�m thinking a cheaper, smaller machine might actually suit me better, because I don�t want to invest a lot of money in something I�m going to lose or break and when I�m in headphones away from my computer, there�s a limited number of things I�d be interested in listening to anyway. 200 songs should be more than enough, I think.

AJ is sick, sick, sick. He barely made it through his Valentine�s Party at school yesterday. I took him home early. By nightfall he had a fever. By this morning his fever was past 102. He�s sneezing non-stop and his nose is running like a faucet. He�s been in an incredibly good mood, though, even when he looks at his most miserable.

Must. Work. Now.

6 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>