spynotes ::
  February 26, 2007
Imagine my surprise: all my life I've been so ordinary

I remember reading a picture book in preschool called something like �Fortunately, Unfortunately.� The book was sort of an ode to melodrama: Fortunately, the boy took a plane ride. Unfortunately he fell out of the plane. Fortunately, he had a parachute. Unfortunately, the parachute didn�t open. Fortunately he landed in a haystack. Unfortunately there was a needle in the haystack, etc., etc.

My day has been something like that book, but without the more dramatic elements. Fortunately, I finished both papers today. All I need now is a trip to Kinko�s to assemble the handouts and I should be in business. Hooray! Tomorrow I have to try on my clothes to see if they still fit. Unfortunately, our water softener is out again � we�re going to have it replaced � so I�ll have to schlep to the Laundromat if I want to wear anything clean. Boo!

Fortunately AJ has Spanish after school so I have an extra hour to get caught up on things. Unfortunately, my new iPod arrived during breakfast this morning and has proved to be a major time sucker.

Fortunately, my new iPod arrived today! It is filling with tunes as we speak! Unfortunately, it was filled with tunes earlier, just the wrong ones. I have too much stuff in my iTunes file and so it had to pick and choose. Fortunately, it chose some of my favorite tunes. Unfortunately it also picked every single piece from the Second Viennese School (Webern�s complete works, Schoenberg�s greatest hits and Berg�s Wozzeck and part of Lulu). Fortunately it is easy to switch songs, says the manual. Unfortunately, it is only easy if you completely erase the tunes and then start over. Fortunately I figured this out before I�d spent any time figuring how to set stuff up to my liking. Fortunately it is very appealing. Fortunately it fits in my pocket. Fortunately, I got it working in time to take AJ to his first ever skating lesson this morning, thus preserving me from having to listen to that all-Journey radio station that is usually blaring from the rink speakers. Fortunately, fortunately, fortunately.

Fortunately, AJ did fantastically well at his lesson with three other boys in hockey jerseys. Fortunately he also had fun. There was nothing at all unfortunate here.

Unfortunately, I had to shovel snow for the third day in a row. But fortunately, it looked like this:
















6 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>