spynotes ::
  April 07, 2007
The Bash

AJ's party has been pronounced a success, even though one of the mother of one of the guests called at the last minute because her son was in bed with the flu. I thought AJ would be upset, but like most things, he just nodded and moved on. "That's okay. He talks a lot anyway."

Okay then.

There were eight boys and one girl (the girl next door) who did make it, however. It was a smaller number but a distinctly different gender ratio than last year. The gender discrepancy had Andy's gymnastics coach, who was running the gym part of the party, calling them "Boys and Girl," which they all thought hilarious. I also blame on the overabundance of testosterone the fact that I was, at one point, forced to say, "Anyone who's screaming doesn't get cake." I generally take a fairly laissez-faire attitude towards birthday parties. Kids should get to cut loose and act crazy once in a while and what better time than at a birthday party (especially if it's not in my house)? But I draw the line at screaming, and I will admit that my idle threat had remarkable results. You could have heard a pin drop for about three seconds, until Ben Franklin Boy, who was sitting at the foot of the table, began chanting "Chocolate! Chocolate!" with the rhythmic punctuation of his utensils on the table. The chant caught on and I was forced to repeat my threat with the ice cream. This one stuck. And also, I didn't have any chocolate. AJ's on an all-vanilla-all the time kick lately and has even become a connoisseur of assorted flavors ("Shall I get 'French vanilla' or 'Vanilla bean' this time?")

But as I said, a good time was had by all. I was particularly happy to see AJ's preschool friend N. and his brother W. and his mom A. We haven't seen them since last fall, although A. and I have exchanged emails. Despite the long gaps in their friendship, AJ talks about N. all the time. It has been long enough this time that N. was feeling a little shy. They all seem to be doing well. I really don't know how A. does all that she does. But I guess when it's your life, you just do it because you have to.

After we got home from the party, AJ opened his presents and went out to play with The Girl Next Door when she appeared at our front door bearing bubbles from the goody bags from the party. The two of them took turns blowing bubbles for each other to chase and then disappeared into the woods for a wild game of tag in which it was impossible to determine who was It.

AJ is sleeping now, probably dreaming of the chocolate bunny he hopes the Easter bunny will bring him (and I have it on good authority that the bunny will come through for him). He's feeling pretty good about the Easter Bunny, because we think we saw him yesterday. We were sitting in the kitchen when suddenly an enormous brown rabbit appeared at one of the windows. It was much bigger than the usual rabbits we see in our yard, more like someone's escaped pet. It loped along the perimeter of the house and disappeared under the deck. Even if it's not the Easter Bunny, I'm choosing to consider the bunny's appearance on Good Friday to be a good omen. At least until he attempts to tunnel into my basement.

1 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>