spynotes ::
  April 15, 2007
Smells like Tori Amos

It's time for round two of my review of Dr. Geek's harri3t mix. Click back for part one.

The second CD seems to follow straight through from the end of disk one, for the first track of this disk fits in perfectly with Madeleine Peyroux's "La Javanaise." There's a thread of exoticism that connects the end of disk one with the first few tracks on this disk.

1. John Jorgenson: Man of Mystery. I don't know if the title is meant to invoke Inspector Clousseau, but this reminds me a little of the soundtrack to The Pink Panther in its freewheeling exoticism. Dr. Geek mentioned Django Reinhardt, and I can hear that too. Dr. Geek, remind me to send you Zach Brock and the Coffee Achievers.

2. The Ditty Bops: Four Left Feet. I don't know this group ( although I've heard the name) or song, but I like the dulcimer/mandolin/accordion waltz. The vocals remind me more of Sam Philips or possibly the Roches. I'm also a sucker for a good fiddle solo, although this one sounds more elegant than the accompaniment would imply, like a concert violinist in drag.

3. Poe: Spanish Doll. Another group I don't know. Opens with a simple female vocal and guitar in a sort of classic pseudo-Spanish guitar song with a melody shifting from major to minor at will. But there are interjections of manipulated electric guitar noise that adds a sense of violence behind the sweet song. The backing chorus, when it enters, adds to this sense.

4. Fiona Apple: Window. I've always liked Apple's voice, but not always her songs. She sometimes seems a little too lightweight to me. But this one works -- the accompaniment is quirky (reminds me of John Cage's prepared piano) and keeps things moving. Also, it fits in nicely with this context of songs. Perhaps Apple fares better when not in album form.

5. MC 900 Ft Jesus: Buried at Sea. This is a group I've heard of, but I've never been exactly sure what kind of music they did. And to be honest, I'm still not sure. It's an interesting blend of rock, jazz and electronica, atmospheric. It reminds me a little of early Moby. But the riff on which it is based seems to be pirated from the opening of The O'Jays' "For The Love of Money."

6. Ginger Baker Trio: Sunday at the Hillcrest. I may be the only person in America who knew Ginger Baker (at least by name) first as a jazz drummer and not as Eric Clapton's Cream colleague. This track demonstrates why that point of view is possible.

7. Branford Marsalis: B.B.'s Blues. It's hard to go wrong with a Marsalis, any Marsalis. The title, of course, refers to B.B. King, whom I'm assuming (based on title and style) is playing guitar on this track. With this track, the mix is starting to feel like it's coming full circle. It picks up the jazz thread from the last few tracks but adds back the blues from the beginning of disk one. A classic.

8. John Mayer: Bold as Love. I've tried not to like John Mayer, but I've found it difficult. He's a likeable guy (except, perhaps, for his taste in women). I was actually excited for him when he won his Grammy for "Your Body is a Wonderland" or the album it's on or whatever it was:

Harriet: Hey, look, a twelve-year-old just won a Grammy! Isn't that nice?

Mr. Spy: What else is new? Wait, why are you watching the Grammys?

But it's not just that he looks like a kid that I find endearing. There's that sexy voice. (I hope that doesn't make me a pedophile.) And this song shows it off well.

9. Neil Diamond: I'm on to You. I saw Neil Diamond's name on here and I inwardly groaned. Neil Diamond has been forever moved to my NO NEVER NOT IN A MILLION YEARS list, thanks to "Turn on your Heart Light." I thought I'd gotten over my "Turn on your Heart Light" aversion until a few years ago when I was staying in a youth hostel in Dublin on what turned out to be the same weekend that Neil Diamond was making is first appearance in Ireland in something like a decade. Every bunk and inch of floorspace in the hostel was filled with Neil Diamond fans and they were all singing "Turn on Your Heart Light" off key at three in the morning after the concert. Thank God for earplugs. But I digress. This song reminded me that I shouldn't be so quick to write off all of the Diamond oeuvre. This song works because a) it is an interesting song and b) it is nothing like "Turn on Your Heart Light." It also makes me realize why he had so many fans in Ireland. It has a folkish twist--with vibes!

10. Rufus Wainwright: The Art Teacher. The opening sounds a little like Philip Glass. The rest of it reminds me more of Edith Piaf. Wainwright has always been on the edge of my radar screen, an artist I always think I know and then find that I don't. I'm most familiar with him from his work with his parents (Loudon Wainwright III and Kate McGarrigle). Beautiful lyrics and a haunting piano part help make this one of those tunes that sounds a little different each time you listen. Too bad about the sudden cutoff of applause at the end.

11. Tori Amos: Smells Like Teen Spirit. I should mention first that I am not a big Tori Amos fan (sorry, leigh). I own one of her CDs, which implies to me that I must have liked her at one point, but I think the thing I like about one of her songs is the same thing I like in all of her songs, so I don't really see the point in listening much. I have, however, been wanting to hear this particular song and I have a feeling that I'd mentioned this to Dr. Geek sometime in the distant past. And it is hilarious because it is quintessential Amos and yet Nirvana. And really, if it were possible for a voice to sound less like Kurt Cobain than Tori Amos, I, for one, would like to know whose it is (okay, maybe Renee Fleming. Or even better, Emma Kirkby). This is a perfect example to start a discussion of the question of how much is the singer and how much is the song. I will probably use this song in one of my classes at some point.

That's it! Thanks so much, Dr. Geek!

[This is part two of a mix review; click back for part one; also, you can see the cover art here]

4 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>