spynotes ::
  April 25, 2007
If I could I surely would

Silence. That's what I'm listening to. AJ is back at school. Mr. Spy is out on assignment. There's nobody here but me.

[Pause for barefoot happy dance of solitude in the kitchen]

I probably should be writing, but I'm volunteering in AJ's classroom in an hour, so instead I'll probably practice for Friday's open mike in the off chance that I can find a sitter. Our faithful sitter, the one who has never once not been able to come, has a track meet Friday and can't come. And Mr. Spy's brother, who's usually more than willing to come sit, is currently in the midst of his first ever trip to Europe. I don't see him jetting in from Paris, even for AJ, although if we asked and it were really important, there's little doubt in my mind that he would do it.

I promised a friend I'd learn the fiddle part to "Oh, Mary" off Springsteen's Seeger Sessions album. I've never tried my hand at a New Orleans style jazz, which is what this sounds like it is. It's pretty straightforward -- minimal chord changes. The fiddle has a countermelody that's fun to play and easy to ornament. My biggest problem will be nerves.

2 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>