spynotes ::
  May 07, 2007
Disgruntled

I'm really trying not to defect from diaryland, but sheesh, guys, you're really not making it easy. I've stuck with you through traumas past. This is my 1,382nd entry, so I don't think you could say I haven't tried. I've mostly overlooked the fact that my guestbook hasn't worked in what, nearly a year? Although it irritates me, I mostly get over that you haven't answered any of my tech support questions in the last couple of years. I grind my teeth but work around the periodic lapses in character recognition. But this latest bout has gone on far too long. I'm a gold member, so I haven't lost posting abilities*, but everything is amazingly slow and I have to post twice in order to get an entry to appear. And can I reiterate the point about the slowness? It takes a minimum of five minutes for the members page to load, longer than that to post. And I have a DSL line, so this is not my fault. While I'm typing this, I've been waiting eight minutes for my profile to load. Nope, still not there.

I could probably put up with these things if it were just a matter of posting, but the problems have broken down all the reasons I've stuck with diaryland for the long term. I've stayed because I like the community-oriented nature of the place, something I haven't found on blogspot. But now not only is it hard for me to post, but many if not most of the people I read are not posting at all. No people, no community. No community, no Harriet.

And so it is with regret that I start working on a new address. When I'm ready to move, I'll let you all know.

* * * * * *

Today was AJ's last skating lesson and they spent the morning having races and playing Sharks and Minnows, a game where one person stands in the middle of the ice -- the shark -- and tries to tag as many people as he can as they skate from one end of the rink to the other. Anyone he tags becomes a shark until gradually, only one or two minnows are left and the game is over. They also played a game where two teams had to try to kick as many hockey pucks toward the other team as they could. AJ was in heaven. He came in third in one race and fourth in another out of about forty or fifty kids. This was amazing to see, as when he started he was near the bottom of the class in skating skills. Now he's leaving near the top.

AJ proudly brought me his report card. He had passed to the next level and got a patch to put on his jersey. He was grinning from ear to ear. We went out to lunch to celebrate. Walking to school this afternoon, his legs were dragging and he walked three feet behind me unless I got behind him and pushed him up the hill. "I just need a little rest, Mommy." Strangely, though, as soon as he saw his friends in the school parking lot, he was off like a shot, screaming, "Hi, M.!" his backpack bouncing along behind him. "Wait, AJ," I had to yell. "You forgot something." He stopped and turned around, a slow smile spreading across his face and then he ran back and planted a huge kiss on my cheek. I love six.

* I am certain that it is because I wrote this that I have been unable to post for the last hour four hours. You may all feel free to blame me for the latest server crash. You're welcome.

12 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>