spynotes ::
  May 15, 2007
Move the world with the power of feeling

Scene: Harriet's bathroom, last night. AJ is just about to brush his teeth.

AJ: Mommy! I need something small!

Harriet: What do you mean?

AJ: Just something small.

Harriet: [perplexed, as she's uncertain as to whether he needs a toy for the bathtub or something to fish something out of the drain, or something else entirely] What kind of thing? What for?

AJ: I want to show you what a black hole is like. I know. I'll use the cap to my toothpaste. Come see, Mommy.

Harriet: Show me.

AJ: [He shows me the toothpaste cap] Well, this is the thing that gets sucked into the black hole. And the drain is the black hole. [He turns the cap on its side and rolls it with his fingers along the edge of the sink]. It's spiraling in. And the edge of the sink is the event horizon.

Harriet: The event horizon?

AJ: That's the point after which it's too late to stop it. Then it spirals around [he rolls it around the edge of the sink, stopping to switch hands to get underneath the arc of the faucet] and goes all the way down. But I won't do it now because then I couldn't get it out.

Harriet: That would be a problem [wondering where the plumbing snake is].

AJ: Yeah. Then my toothpaste would dry out.

* * * * *
I received a surprising email this morning from my comrade-at-arms in the library. Names have been changed, of course:

I am truly delighted to share with you the news that The Bearded Wonder, our Assistant Director for Humanities and Social Sciences and Head, Collection Development, has decided to order the full available runs of the Digital Ancient Newspaper Database 1 and the Ancient Newspaper Database 2. They will be added to our collection shortly after the new fiscal year begins (on July 1), or possibly sooner. If they are made available sooner I will let you know.

The Bearded Wonder and I are both very pleased to be able to assist you in your research and wish you all prosperity.

With every cordial best wish,

Nicest Librarian on the Planet

That is to say, the university library granted both of my rather expensive requests. So now I feel just a little bit guilty for finding another way into the databases. But not too much, since actually, I really think the library needs to know how important the difference is between a word-searchable database of facsimiles and microfilm. I think -- I hope -- that if the library has these things, more people will find interesting ways to use them. I'm glad my own case study seemed to demonstrate sufficient usefulness to make it available to everyone. I've felt very passionate about the importance of this particular technological development for a long time and it's nice to be able to channel that passion into something useful.

[Second entry this morning; click back (or, if diaryland hasn't fixed it, click here to find out why my computer keeps sliding off my knees.]

4 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>