spynotes ::
  January 04, 2006
No sir, I don't mean maybe

Scene: Harriet�s room, about an hour after AJ�s bedtime. Harriet is lying on her bed watching a stupid movie because she is brain dead from a day of editing footnotes. There is a knock at the door.

Harriet: AJ, what are you doing out of bed?

AJ: I�m sorry, Mommy, but I just needed to ask you a question.

Harriet: It�s not question time. It�s sleeping time. Please go back to bed.

AJ: But it�s really really important.

Harriet: Okay. What is it?

AJ: Um, how do people get a baby?

Harriet (while walking AJ back to bed and stalling shamelessly): You�re right. That is an important question. I think we should talk about this tomorrow.

AJ: Mommy, can�t you just tell me?

Harriet: You mean how the baby gets in a Mommy�s tummy?

AJ: (nods vigorously) Uh huh.

Harriet: What made you think of that?

AJ: I don�t know. I just thought of it.

Harriet: Well, it takes a Mommy and a Daddy to make a baby. (AJ looks very attentive). And, uh, well, when a Mommy and Daddy really want to have a baby�um�sometimes they get a baby. [Lame, lame, LAME!]

AJ: Well, could we get a baby sometime?

Harriet: You want a baby brother or sister, huh?

AJ: Yes.

Harriet: Well, maybe. But if we don�t, I think our family�s pretty good with just three, don�t you?

AJ: Well, maybe. But I think it would be better if there were four.


* * * * *

To quote a hypothetical question my husband�s aunt asked him at the family Christmas Eve party while gesturing at AJ, �How could you not want to make more of those?�

[Second entry today, click back for an ode to the dissertation secretary]

0 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>