spynotes ::
  January 27, 2006
50 percent healthy

Harriet: How was sledding, AJ?
AJ: Great! There was 95 percent snow!
Harriet: Is that good?
AJ: Yes, Mommy. 95 percent! That�s almost 100 percent snow!

* * * * *

AJ�s descriptions have suddenly turned very mathematical. This can sometimes be useful. For example, when I asked him how he was feeling this morning, he responded, �Well, I feel kind of 10 percent yucky but mostly okay.� This was a lot more descriptive than my response to the same question from my husband this morning, �Eh!�

I am trying to pretend I am no longer ill. I seem to have dropped the fever for the moment, although I did wake up at 3:30 with a thermometer reading of 103. After popping some midnight Motrin, I seem to have kicked the fever to the curb for the moment. I am now sitting at my desk, mainly because I really can�t stand to be looking at my bedroom for one more minute.

But back to AJ. Most of his descriptions lately are phrased as fractions rather than percents. This is because he has a new book about fractions out from the library that he likes even better than the fraction book we had out last week. Last night he was reading it while sitting on the can, because AJ likes to make the most of his trips to the potty -- he�ll be all set for old-man-hood. All of a sudden, I heard him shout, �Hey, Mommy! I�m one-third of a family!� By George, I think he�s got it!

2 people said it like they meant it

 
:: last :: next :: random :: newest :: archives ::
:: :: profile :: notes :: g-book :: email ::
::rings/links :: 100 things :: design :: host ::

(c) 2003-2007 harri3tspy

<< chicago blogs >>